Who Has Scored Most Number of Centuries in IPL History?

Who Scored Most Centuries in IPL History

Indian Premier League (IPL) is the world’s most popular T20 cricket league held every year. The IPL league is famous for high-scoring matches and is also known as a paradise for batters. Most centuries in IPL are made be the oversease players while there is a good contribution by Indian batters as well.

By the way, here you can check who has scored most runs in IPL?

The next season of IPL is going to start in the last week of March 2022 and you can expect sixes raining around all sides of the grounds. World-class batters from the world will participate in the Indian Premier League.

How Many Total Centuries in IPL?

IPL was started in 2008, and so far, 13 seasons of the Indian Premier League have been played. In these 13 seasons, a lot of centuries have been made and if you are curious to know how many total centuries in IPL are made yet, then the answer is 62.

Yes, the total centuries in IPL are 62 and these 62 centuries in IPL are made by 36 different batsmen.

Who Scored First Century in IPL?

Do you know who scored the first 100 in IPL? In 2008, New Zealand’s batsmen Brendon McCullum scored the first-ever century in IPL. While playing for Kolkata Knight Riders he scored 158 runs on 73 balls and remains not out.

He is still the second-highest run-scorer in an innings despited 13 seasons have been passed.

Who Has Scored Most Centuries in IPL?

As I said earlier that 62 centuries are scored by 36 different players in all the 13 seasons of IPL. So, let’s have a look at who has most centuries in IPL history from 2008 to 2021.

5-AB de Villiers

AB de Villiers Centuries in IPL

AB de Villiers aka MR. 360 is a cricketer from South Africa. MR. 360 is known for its versatile batting style. AB de Villiers has played 184 matches in the IPL league and scored 3 centuries.

His highest score in IPL is 133* for Royal Challengers Bangalore, which he made playing against Mumbai Indians. MR. 360 also holds the record of the fastest century by a batsman in ODIs.

4- Shane Watson

Shane Watson in IPL

Shane Watson is an Australian cricketer who is an all-rounder and played several leagues all over the world. His IPL career is just amazing as he is on the 4th spot in most centuries in the IPL.

He played 145 matches, and on 4 occasions he passed the 100 run mark. His highest score is 117 not out which he made for Chennai Super Kings in a match against Sunrisers Hyderabad. Watson has retired from IPL and all other kinds of cricket.

3- David Warner

David Warner IPL

The Australian cricketer David Warner is at the 3rd spot in the list of the players with most centuries in IPL. The opening slot batsman has scored 4 centuries in 150 matches in the IPL cricket league.

His highest score in the IPL is 126 runs on 59 balls that he scored against Kolkata Knight Riders while playing for his team Sunrisers Hyderabad.

2- Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli Most Centuries in IPL

Virat Kohli is at the second spot in the most centuries in IPL history. The world’s number one batsman has scored 5 centuries in 207 IPL matches.

Virat’s highest score is 113 on just 50 balls that he scored for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Kings XI Punjab. Unfortunately, he hasn’t scored a single century in any international t20 match.

1- Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle Most Centuries in IPL

The West Indian cricketer ‘Chris Gayle‘ is at the first number on the list of most centuries in IPL. He has played 142 matches in the IPL tournament and scored 6 centuries.

Cricket lovers call him the ‘Universe Boss’ and he proved it with his amazing batting skills and hard hitting in IPL that he is the boss. Chris has retired from IPL but is still at the top of the most 100s in IPL.

Chris Gayle’s highest score in IPL is 175 not out on 66 balls. He scored his career-best T20 and IPL score while playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Pune Warriors.

In his 175*, he smashed 17 sixes and 13 fours. His 175 is also the highest score by a player not only in IPL, but also in T20 cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *