Lahore Qalandars: PSL History, Squad, Management and Staff


Lahore Qalandars represents the Qalandars of Lahore city, the capital of Punjab. Lahore Qalandar is famous because of its enthusiastic owner Fawad Rana who is a lovely person. The team has played all 5 seasons of the Pakistan Super League from 2016 to 2020.

The team was formed in 2015 when PCB announced the Pakistan Super League. For the first time in history, Lahore Qalandars is not at the bottom of the league, instead, they have qualified for the playoffs for HBL PSL 2020. You can watch them in action on the 14th of November against Peshawar Zalmi in Gaddafi stadium Lahore.

History of Lahore Qalandars

In 2015, a famous businessman of Pakistan, Fawad Rana formed the team Lahore Qalandars. He participated in almost all the matches of the tournament in-person instead his team lost most of its matches. In the 4 editions of the Pakistan Super League, Lahore Qalandars was at the bottom of the points table.

Azhar Ali was the first captain of Lahore Qalandars who played the league in 2016 and leads the team. He had only won 2 matches out of 7 whereas Dwayne Bravo played 1 match in this season as a captain, and Lahore Qalandars couldn’t win that match. In total, Qalandars had won only 2 matches out of the 8 matches they played and they ended up last in the points table in the group stage.

In 2017 Brendon McCullum of NewZealand leads Lahore Qalandars but again, the overall performance of the team was very poor. Out of 8 matches, they could only win 3 matches and lost 5. Qalandars were unable to qualify for the next round and they ended up last on the points table in the group stage.

Brendon McCullum once again appointed a captain of Lahore Qalandars for the 3rd edition of HBL PSL in 2018. There was a new team of Multan Sultans in the league now, but once again, Lahore Qalandars was the team who was at the bottom on the points table in the group stage. Out of 10 matches, they only won 3 matches and lost 7 matches.

HBL PSL 2019 was not different at all for Lahore Qalandars because once again they retain their position in the league. Yes, the last position on the points table in the group stages. 3 players lead the team this season. Fakhar Zaman played as captain in the 5 matches and could only win 1 match. AB de Villiers also won one match for Qalandars out of 3 matches he played as the captain. Muhammad Hafeez played 2 matches as a captain this season and won 1 match.

The 5th edition of the Pakistan Super League proved to be good for the Qalandars as they were able to not only changed their position from the last but they also qualified for the playoffs. Sohail Akhtar leads the team of Qalandars throughout the tournament and he is still the captain of the team. He won 5 matches for Lahore out of 10 and he will lead the team as well in the playoff match.

Let’s see if they will be able to qualify for the final match in HBL PSL 2020 or not?

Lahore Qalandars Performance in PSL

This table shows the overall performance of Lahore Qalandars in all 5 seasons of HBL PSL.

Year Pld Won Loss Tie&W Tie&L NR (%) Position (G–S) Summary
2016 8 2 6 0 0 0 25.00 5/5 Group Stage
2017 8 3 5 0 0 0 37.50 5/5
2018 10 2 6 1 1 0 30.00 6/6
2019 10 3 7 0 0 0 30.00 6/6
2020 10 5 5 0 0 0 50.00 3/6 TBD
Total 46 15 29 1 1 0 34.78 0 titles

Lahore Qalandars Management and Staff

Check the overall management and staff members of Lahore Qalandars in this table:

Name Position
Multan Sultans Fawad Rana Owner
Multan Sultans Sameen Rana COO & Manager
Multan Sultans Atif Rana CEO
Pakistan Aaqib Javed Head Coach
Multan Sultans Mansoor Rana Batting coach
Multan Sultans Waqas Ahmed Bowling coach
Pakistan Shahzad Butt Fielding Coach
Multan Sultans Moeen Nadeem Trainer
Australia Multan Sultans Brett Harrop Physiotherapist
Australia Multan Sultans Derek Sedgman Masseur
Multan Sultans Nabeel Edgar Pace Analyst

Lahore Qalandars Squad for PSL 2020

Player Name Category Role
Lahore Qalandars Sohail Akhtar Gold (C) Batsman
Lahore Qalandars Fakhar Zaman Platinum Batsman
Lahore Qalandars Mohammad Hafeez Platinum All-Rounder
Lahore Qalandars Chris Lynn Platinum Batsman
Lahore Qalandars Squad 2020 Shaheen Afridi Diamond Bowler
Lahore Qalandars Squad 2020 Usman Shinwari Diamond Bowler
Karachi Kings David Wiese Diamond All-Rounder
Karachi Kings Haris Rauf Gold Batsman
Karachi Kings Samit Patel Gold All-Rounder
Karachi Kings Dane Vilas Gold Batsman
Karachi Kings Salman Butt Silver Batsman
Karachi Kings Jaahid Ali Silver Batsman
Lahore Qalandars Dilbar Hussain Silver Bowler
Lahore Qalandars Salman Irshad Silver Bowler
Lahore Qalandars Ben Dunk Silver Batsman
Lahore Qalandars Seekkuge Prasanna Silver All-Rounder
Lahore Qalandars Raja Farzan Silver Bowler
Lahore Qalandars Maaz Khan Emerging Bowler

Lahore Qalandars

Owner of Multan Sultans

Fawad Rana is the owner of the Lahore Qalandars franchise of HBL PSL.


The current captain of Lahore Qalandars is Sohail Akhtar, who also plays for the national team of Pakistan. He is an average batsman but in his captaincy, Lahore performed very well.

Head Coach

Aaqib Javed is the coach of Lahore Qalandars who is a famous former medium pacer of Pakistan’s national cricket team.

Bowling Coach

The current bowling coach of Qalandars is Waqas Ahmed.

Batting Coach

Mansoor Rana is the batting coach of franchise Lahore Qalandars.