Peshawar Zalmi Qualified For PSL Final by Winning PSL Eliminator 2

(Abu Dhabi: Thursday, 22 June) Peshawar Zalmi has won the second eliminator of PSL 6 and qualified to play the PSL 6 final match against Multan Sultans. Peshawar won the PSL eliminator 2 by 8 wickets with 19 balls remaining.

Captain of Peshawar, Wahab Riaz won the toss and once again decided to field first. They restricted Islamabad United to a total score of 174 and then chased down the score in the 17th over.

They lost only two wickets, both were openers. Afghan player, Hazratullah Zazai once again played a brilliant knock and declared player of the match.

Islamabad United

174-9 (20/20 ov)

Hasan Ali: 45 (16)

Colin Munro: 44 (29)

Peshawar Zalmi winner

177-2 (16.5/20 ov)

Hazratullah Zazai: 66 (44)

Jonathan Wells: 55* (43)

Islamabad United Innings Highlights

The start of Islamabad United’s innings was not very good as they lost Usman Khawja in the very first over. Colin Munro smashed a hit back to the bowler, Shoaib Malik. Khawja was well out of his crease when the ball touches the shoelaces of Malik and hits the wickets.

Wicket Keeper batsman, Muhammad Akhlaq was the second batsman to go. He caught behind by Kamran Akmal on the last ball of the second over when the total score on the board was 15.

Ammad Butt sent Brandon King back to the pavilion on the last ball of the 8th over when Islamabad had 71 runs on the board. He scored 18 runs on 16 balls. Colin Munro who just started to play big hits, couldn’t capitalize it and he was dismissed in the next over by Mohammad Irfan on an individual total of 44 runs. Islamabad United was 76 for 4 at this stage.

After the departure of Munro, no united player can face the excellent bowling of Peshawar Zalmi. In 15.4 overs, Islamabad lost 8 wickets on just 110 runs.

From here, Hassan Ali played an outstanding inning and set a decent fighting total on the scorecard. He made 45 runs on just 16 balls with the help of 3 sixes and 5 fours.

Mohammad Wasim joins in the party and he made 17 runs on 11 balls with 2 big sixes. Islamabad United managed to put 174 runs on the board and from the body language, players of Peshawar Zalmi were looking under pressure.

Peshawar Zalmi Innings Highlights

Peshawar Zalmi started their innings and they were looking under pressure because of the last overs played by Hassan Ali. Opener Kamran Akmal was clean bowled on the last ball of the first over by Hassan Ali.

Though Peshawar Zalmi didn’t lose any other wicket until they had a clear victory in the 15th over but, Hazratullah Zazai and Jonathan Wells were not looking comfortable while playing the United bowlers. Zazai was dropped in the 3rd over when he scored just 7 runs on 7 balls.

Somehow, both Zazai and Wells survived and they keep making runs slowly to close the gap. At the end of the 9th over, Peshawar Zalmi’s total runs on the board were 67.

From here, Zazai and Wells, both took charge and they started hitting Shadab in the 10th over. Zalmi made 21 runs in the 12th overs of the innings which was bowled by Shadab Khan.

At the end of the 15th over, Peshawar Zalmi scored 144 runs and they lost Hazratullah Zazai in this over. He made brilliant 66 runs on 44 balls with six boundaries and 4 sixes.

After the departure of Zazai, Shoaib Malik comes on the crease and he started hitting sixes and fours. He also targets Shadab Khan and in the 16th overs of the innings, he hit 1 six and 2 fours. Total 18 runs were made in that over of Shadab and Shadab Khan ended his 4 overs by conceding 55 runs.

Shoaib Malik chased the target in the 17th over by hitting 3 consecutive boundaries. He made 32 runs on just 10 balls. Jonathan Wells goes not out and he made 55 important runs on 43 balls. He hit 6 boundaries and 3 sixes.

Peshawar Zalmi made 177 runs in 16.5 overs by losing two wickets. They convincingly won the PSL eliminator 2 defeating the hot favorite team of PSL 6 and two times tournament winner Islamabad United with 8 wickets and 19 balls remaining.

Peshawar Zalmi qualified for the PSL 6 final and they will meet Multan Sultans on 24 June. It will be the 4th time in PSL history that you will see Peshawar Zalmi in the final match.

On June 24, Peshawar Zalmi will be the team that played maximum PSL finals. They won the PSL final once and twice they were runner up. Quetta Gladiators played the PSL final match 3 times and could manage to win only one time. Islamabad United played the final match two times and they had won both finals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *