Faheem Ashraf Steals Victory from Multan’s Grasp

Share this:

Yesterday, in math no. 24 of PSL8, which took place at Rawalpindi Stadium Islamabad United prevailed against Multan Sultans by a score of two wickets.


In match no. 24 of PSL8, which took place on Tuesday in Rawalpindi, Islamabad United triumphed in the coin toss and elected to bowl first against Multan Sultans.

Multan Sultan Inning:

Tim David made a spectacular debut in the eighth season of the Pakistan Super League (PSL). The hitter with right hand scored fifty runs off of just twenty balls in the first innings, which contributed to Suhltans posting a large total.

Last year Tim David who was debutant for Kangaroos, produced an important knock to help increase the score of the Sultans in the presence of Shan Masood, who was well-set.

The batter with right hand went crazy on United’s bowlers when they were standing in front of David since they had no idea what to do. To announce his arrival, he became the 3rd joint fastest player in PSL history to reach fifty by scoring off twenty balls.

In total, he struck 60 runs off twenty seven balls, which included 4 boundaries and 5 maximums, which contributed to Sultans posting 205 runs in twenty overs. Shan, a left-handed player, benefited from David’s entrance as well because he was able to speed up his score and contribute 75 out of 50 to the team’s overall score.

Once David had successfully defended against bowlers from the one end, Shan took his place at the batting crease and immediately established an excellent tone. He hit 12 fours, which helped the Sultans keep their hopes alive of putting up a good fight despite the fact that they lost a number of wickets quite quickly following the end of the powerplay.

The 2021 PSL champions got off to a strong start thanks to Shan and Mohammad Rizwan, who captained the team. During the powerplay, they were responsible for 57 runs being scored. Shadab, the captain of United, provided an important breakthrough for his team when he caught Rizwan immediately after 6th over in 7th over. This wicket was very important for United.

Before being eliminated by Shadab’s deft bowling, Rizwan made 33 runs off of 18 balls in the game. Azam Khan took an excellent catch after the ball was edged behind the wickets by the batsman. Shan maintained his composure and pulled up another  fifty in the history of PSL despite the back-to-back blows that Shadab scored following the powerplay.

David made a significant contribution to the 3rd wicket partnership, which resulted in Shan’s score of 80 off just 38 balls. The outcome worked out in favor of Multan Sultans, who will now try to protect the total in order to make it into the playoffs.

Wasim and  Shadab each took two wickets for United, whilst Faheem managed to get one for his team.

Islamabad United Innings:

In the middle of the match, Faheem Ashraf astonished everyone by making amazing chase for United, who were far away from the goal in the last 5 overs of the game. But, Faheem was the player that was firmly strong and helped them win the game after a tense final over.

Muhammad Ilyas bowled the final over, the team needed 18 runs to win. Faheem hit 2 boundaries and a six and made his team nearer to the target. Earlier in the game, the left hand batter made the match close for his squad by pairing with the team’s captain Shadab to score 39 runs together.

In the end, Faheem and Wasim Jr. scored 28 runs off just twelve balls to pull United back into the race for the victory. His great inning consisted of five boundaries, two sixes, and 2 Sixes, and it was played off 26 balls. It scored 51 runs.

Before to that, Shadab who made 44 runs and Munro who made 40 runs struck 59 runs of just 30 balls to take on the bowlers for the Sultans in middle overs. Both of United’s batters contributed significantly to the team’s successful run chase, which is now the record for the most runs successfully chased in the history of the PSL.

The Sultans were led by Anwar Ali, who took three wickets, Ihsanullah, who got two wickets, and Usama Mir, who also took two wickets.

Playing XIs:

MS: David Miller, Mohammad Rizwan (c), Rilee Rossouw, Shan Masood, Tim David, Abbas Afridi, Anwar Ali, Kieron Pollard, Usama Mir, Ihsanullah, Mohammad Ilyas

IU: Shadab Khan (c), Alex Hales, Colin Munro, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Azam Khan, Mubasir Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Asif Ali, Rumman Raees, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Mohammad Wasim Jr

Please follow and like us:
Tweet 20

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *